Crazy Stupid Bromance by Lyssa Kay Adams

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

by Lyssa Kay Adams
Series: Bromance Book Club #3
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Adult
Publisher: Berkley Publishing
Publication Date: October 27th 2020
Source: ARC received for review
Star Quotient: ★★★★
Kiss Factor: ✷✷✷✷

Though this third installment in the Bromance Book Club series has a more serious and somber tone to it, it was still a story I had a great time with. Lyssa Kay Adams has easily become one of my favorite romance writers with her humorous voice and swoon-worthy romances. Crazy Stupid Bromance featured a lovely friends-to-lovers romance that I recommend to fans of the series and lovers of the trope.

If you've read Undercover Bromance, then you've already met Alexis, the quiet but intuitive young woman who runs a wonderful cafe. Alexis is a survivor of sexual assault and has dedicated her energy to making her coffee shop a safe and open space for other sexual assault survivors. She has gone through more than a woman should ever have to go through but remained steadfast and strong for others in the same boat as her. In Crazy Stupid Bromance, her life changes further when the half-sister she didn't know she had shows up at her doorstep asking for her help to save their father. I found this particular storyline to be draining as there were times when I felt like her new-found family was emotionally manipulating her and taking advantage of her gentle soul. It put Alexis on an emotional rollercoaster, one that wasn't fun, but it served to highlight what a kindhearted and charitable woman she was.

Throughout her ordeal, her good friend, Noah, is the only source of comfort and happiness. I was happy to hear that Noah and Alexis would be paired together and he proved why he was the right partner for her in this book. He is the sweet, supportive, and attentive man Alexis wholeheartedly deserves. He provides her with a shoulder to cry on when she needs it and is just willing to listen to her. Their relationship is adorable and so heartfelt. They both care deeply about each other and understand each other really well, but they are also worried about losing their friendship if any romantic relationship didn't work. I think the progress of their relationship is done beautifully given their individual circumstances. It's slow but satisfying. 

The bromance in this series, which comes in the form of the Bromance Book Club, a romance book club for a group of men, remains one of the most joyous parts of these books. These fellows have grown strong ties and the encouragement and loyalty they show each other is super adorable. Of course, they can also be absolutely ridiculous and hilarious. There's banter, lots of leg-pulling, but most of all, a deep sense of friendship. I love these guys and their love for romance novels.

Crazy Stupid Bromance was a worthwhile addition to the Bromance Book Club series. If you're new to the series and are in the mood for swoony contemporary romances, look no further.

Let's chat!
Are you a fan of this series? Which is your favorite installment? 

Let me know in the comments below!




Post a Comment